The state of North Carolina is blessed with an overabundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at 6’9 TJ Nesmith of Graham High School, who we strongly feel is a scholarship-worthy player.

 

Throughout the last year, we’ve seen Nesmith quietly slide under the radar and simply go about his business while producing at a noticeably high level. There were times that where it was just downright perplexing to realize that he didn’t hold any offers, from any level, especially given his steady two-way presence. He’s long, fairly strong, and knows how to control the paint on both sides of the ball. We were consistently impressed with Nesmith’s ability to run the floor and score from inside the arc. He’s a solid athlete that moves his feet well in space and is capable of playing above the rim pretty regularly. College coaches are somewhat late to the party on Nesmith, but he’s absolutely worthy of playing at the next level.

 

After the highly-anticipated JMAC Showcase and CP3 Live, we stated, “The amount of big men that truly embrace their skillset is shockingly low, since most guys want to modernize their game and stretch out the defense. Well, TJ Nesmith is going against the grain and sticking to what he knows best. The 6-foot-9 big man can be found on the low block, where his touch is better than a lot of highly-touted prospects. He’s unstoppable when granted time and space, from either block and with either hand, but never forces the action. Nesmith is extremely reserved, though he will get vocal on defense, and simply comes to the game ready to work. Nesmith runs the floor as well as anyone and has an excellent decision-making process with the ball in his hands. His game doesn’t draw a lot of attention and won’t shut the building down, but Nesmith is just so effective that it’s impossible to ignore. Defensively, he displays a really strong IQ and feel for the game while being a disciplined rim-protector that can accumulate plenty of blocks and rebounds. The more you watch Nesmith, the more you can truly appreciate his fairly complete two-way skillset, and hopefully Division I coaches will begin to feel the same way.”Nesmith has been the senior captain for Graham High School, so coaches should try to make him a viewing priority over the remainder of the season.

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/

Cartier Jernigan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-cartier-jernigan/

Brayden Dixon https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/braydendixon/

Bryant Randleman https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-bryant-randleman/

Trevon Spencer https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-trevon-spencer/

Tim Pettiford https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-tim-pettiford/

Jett Fortuny https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-jett-fortuny/

Raja Milton https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-raja-milton/

Brevin Goodlett https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-brevin-goodlett/

Rev Tholel https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-rev-tholel/

David Elien https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-611-david-elien/

PJ Fenton https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-pj-fenton/

Themus Fulks https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-themus-fulks/

Noah Dunn https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-noah-dunn/