The state of North Carolina is blessed with an overabundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at 6’3 Jett Fortuny of Cary High School,  who we strongly feel is a college-level player. Our full 2019 North Carolina rankings: https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

If we’ve heard it once, we’ve heard it a dozen times. College coaches need and want shooters. We’ve watched Jeff Fortuny countless times, whether it is travel ball, camp setting, or in high school. One thing is for sure, it doesn’t matter the venue, setting, or event; Jett Fortuny is one of the better shooters in the state. He is currently averaging 19.5 PPG, 2.7 RPG, 1.5 APG and 1.2 SPG for Cary High School. We’re talking about a hard workiing “student athlete” that exemplifies what a young basketball player is all about, not to mention he carries an impressive 3.75 GPA in the classrooom.

 

Jett Fortuny is a high IQ, highly skilled shooting guard that moves well without the ball. As the old saying goes, “he does his work early by getting his feet set in a “catch and shoot” situation. He has excellent shooting mechanics, fundamentals, proper extension and follow through and most of all a quick release. Fortuny is highly efficient from the 3-point line and plays with tremendous poise and confidence. What separates Fortuny from his peers is his consistency. He is such a consistent and efficent shooter.

 

In speaking with his WCBA travel ball coach, Coach Mike Davis stated the following. “I’ve coached Jett for 2 years in the WCBA organization. Jett is not only one of the purest shooters I’ve seen on the high school level, but his release is lightening quick. Give him a sliver of daylight and the shot is gone. In the last 2 years he’s become much more than a shooter. He can create his own shot, has a solid mid-range, and can get to the rim when defenders close out trying to take away open looks. He’s a fierce competitor, rebounds, defends and is a great teammate. I absolutely loved coaching Jett, and look forward to seeing what he can do at the next level.” 

 

Currently, Fortuny sports offers from Francis Marion, Lee McRae, and Salem College. Cary High School coach Scott Walton stated, “Jett epitomizes everything a coach desires in a player. He is a high character young man, a fantastic student, a great leader, and obviously a terrific basketball player. He is a true gym rat with a great work ethic which has allowed his game to grow and expand each year. He is as pure of a shooter as I have coached in my 15 years in the high school game. He is currently averaging 19.5 points per game while shooting the three point shot at 43%. Jett has been the focal point of every opponents defensive game plan. He is face guarded and junk defended for 32 minutes every night. He still finds ways to score at a high percentage as his game continues to expand. The person who gets the opportunity to work with Jett for the next four years is going to be a lucky coach.

Simply put, Jett Fortuny is a hidden gem. He’s what good about basketball. He does all the right things on and off the court. He’s a tireless worker and outstanding citizen and some college coach is going to be very fortunate to gain the services of this young man.

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/

Cartier Jernigan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-cartier-jernigan/

Brayden Dixon https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/braydendixon/

Bryant Randleman https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-bryant-randleman/

Trevon Spencer https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-trevon-spencer/

Tim Pettiford https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-tim-pettiford/

Jett Fortuny https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-jett-fortuny/