The state of North Carolina is blessed with an over abundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at D1 prospect 6’3 Caleb Burgess.  Burgess  checks in at no. 27 in our most recent North Carolina 2019 rankings. https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

 

What a senior season it has been for the 6’3 unsigned senior point guard. Caleb Burgess has seen his stock continue to rise throughout the season and it all started Saturday, November 9th. With the inaugural Carmel Christian Tip Off Classic, several teams backed out or shied away from the opportunity to play Oak Hill Academy, but not Moravian Prep. When we presented this opportunity to coach Antonio Lowe, he literally jumped at the opportunity. Although Moravian Prep lost the game in overtime, Caleb Burgess proved his worth by going at and challenging Cole Anthony. He simply didn’t back down and almost pulled out the early season upset.

At the time, Caleb Burgess had basically two offers, Hampton and NC A&T. Fast forward to today and he has received offers from Hosftra, St. Bonaventure, Towson, USC-Upstate and UMBC. Burgess is a tough, strong, gritty and physical point guard that demonstrates qualities that translate well at the D1 level. First of all, we’re talking about a vocal leader who is a “coach on the floor” and has the ability to score from all three levels, but is also effective being an efficient and passer friendly point guard. He has excellent range and can consistently knock down 3-pointers, hit the midrange, and has tremendous body control that allows him to finish effectively at the rim. In addition, he rebounds well for his position and is a strong and willing defender.

While Burgess has good size and athleticims at the point guard position, we really like his poise, confidence and maturity on the court. He plays with that proverbial chip and has certain flair and moxie that makes him one of the more attractive unsigned seniors in the 2019 North Carolina class. . More importantly, we have seen Burgess countless times and especially in open gym as early as September. What you see with Caleb Burgess is what you get! He’s the same player in practice as in game situations and that alone allows him tells you who he is as a player and a person. As the old saying goes,  “You play the way you practice,” and with Caleb Burgess it all starts in practice. Isn’t that what every college coach is looking for?

 

Previous articles on Caleb Burgess

https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/hoop-state-unsigned-seniors-stock-on-the-rise/

https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/open-gym-tour-moravian-prep/

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/