Unsigned Senior Spotlight: 6’1 Cartier Jernigan

The state of North Carolina is blessed with an over abundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at D1 prospect 6’1 Cartier Jernigan. Jernigan checks in at no. 55 in our most recent North Carolina 2019 rankings. Our full 2019 North Carolina rankings: https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

When you talk about a tough all-around point guard, be sure to check out 6’1 Cartier Jernigan of West Charlotte. Playing in the competitive NCHSAA 4A classification, West Charlotte sports an 10-4 record. Jernigan is putting up outstanding numbers for the season and has enjoyed four “triple doubles” for the season. This is almost unheard of today, especially from a point guard. Jernigan is currently averaging 14.9 PPG, 7.4 RPG, 6.6 APG, and 2.9 SPG. In other words, we’re talking about an athletic scoring point guard that can score, pass, rebound, and most importantly defend!

With Cartier Jernigan, we’re talking about an athletic, explosive and most of all tough as nails point guard. Jernigan plays much bigger than his listed height, mostly due to his enormous wingspan and high level quickness and bounce. In speaking with West Charlotte head coach Jacoby Davis, he stated the following. “Cartier Jernigan sports offers from Hampton and Mercer with interest coming from High Point University, Longwood, USC-Upstate, Hofstra, and Arkansas State. He is one of the toughest players I have ever coached and I’ve had some really tough ones. He’s a great team player. He does everything that is asked of him. He can score, distribute and get teammates involved, rebound extremely well for his size and position, but more than anything, he can really defend. We always ask him to guard the opposing team’s best player.”

In addition to his athleticism and tougness, we particularly love his versatility. He can defend multiple positions due to his elite level athleticism and length. Offensively he has all the tools. He can score from all three levels. Jernigan can consistently knock down the 3-poiinter and has a masterful mid-range game. He has tremendous vertical and elevation on his jumper or can take it to the rim and provide a crowd pleasing dunk. If you’re a D1 coach looking for a tough as nails, athletic, bouncy, versatile and team first poing guard, look no further than Cartier Jernigan of West Charlotte.

 

 

 

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/

Cartier Jernigan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-cartier-jernigan/