The state of North Carolina is blessed with an over abundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at 5’11 Michael Wade of The Burlington School, who we strongly feel is a scholarship level player at the D2 and D3 level. Our full 2019 North Carolina rankings: https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

D2 and D3 schools need to put 5’11 Michael Wade in their SIM card. We’re talking about a quick scoring point guard with terrific court vision and passing instincts. Wade can score from all three levels and is tremendous in the open court utilizing his quickness, ball speed and athleticism. Wade plays with a high motor and gives tremendous energy and effort. At our NC Phenom 150 camp this past fall, Wade was named “Best Ball Handler” by scout analysis Jamie Shaw. Shaw stated, “Wade was able to get anywhere he wanted on the floor, he had the ball on a string. Wade is a jet-quick lead guard who has great length and is a great decision maker. However, it was his ability to handle the ball at pace and get where he wanted in the half court. Vision, quickness, handle, sounds like a college point guard to us.”

The Burlington School is currently 15-4 for the season and ranked 10th in the Phenom NCISAA Sweet 16 ranking. For the season, Wade is averaging 14.1 PPG, 6.1 APG, and 4.4 RPG. Coach Will Roberson stated, “Michael is a bit under-the-radar as he transferred to TBS midway through his junior year and played behind Josiah Jeffers (Radford University) That being said, Michael is having a breakout senior season. He is incredibly fast with the ball in his hands and has a burst that is difficult to stay in front of. He uses ball screens very well and has excellent vision and gets the ball to his teammates in positions where they can score. He’s got a knack  for getting to the rim and is a crafty finisher. He generally plays the full 32 minutes for us, pushing the tempo on offense and guarding the opponent’s best perimeter offensive threat. I think he’s definitely a scholarship-level point guard and someone is going to get a major steal.” 

Whether it has been in camp setting or more importantly for his high school team, Michael Wade has shown the ability to be a scholarship-level point guard. He is an extremely smart, high IQ lead guard that combines quickness and athleticism, which is often hard to find. He has shown tremendous stamina while playing with heart, hustlle and passion each and every game.

Previous articles on Michael Wade

https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/north-carolina-phenom-150-session-2-evaluation-team-10/

https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/north-carolina-phenom-150-session-1-evaluation-team-5/

https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/21430/

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

MichaelWade https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/